Rogues of the Black Fury

by Travis Heermann

$CP 9.99
0 stars
$CP 6.99
0 stars
$CP 4.99
0 stars
$CP 2.99
0 stars
$CP 0.99
0 stars
$CP 0.49
0 stars
$CP 0.29
0 stars
FREE
4 stars
#50 Story Book on Scribl!

Add to shopping cart

Audiobook:
783 min
$CP 6.99

Every audiobook purchase at Scribl includes the ebook at no additional charge. We call these Audio Ebooks.

Synopsis

When a band of shadowy fanatics abducts Javin Wollstone’s sister, Bella, from his care, his family’s only hope to bring her home is turning to a hard-bitten band of mercenaries, the Black Furies, led by Commander Rusk.

Javin follows Rusk and his men through a maze of political intrigues, religious fanaticism, and centuries of distrust. Little do they know that Bella Wollstone could be the spark that sets off a war of Armageddon.

Across trackless, pirate-infested seas and into ancient lands of prophets and priest-kings, Javin and the Black Furies pursue Bella’s captors into the teeth of the serpent, trying to snatch her back before the beast swallows her forever.

Javin finds himself torn between his genteel, noble upbringing, the scars of war, and the raw, brutal necessity of what he must do to save her life.

"Bold, colorful characters pull the reader into an unforgettable adventure with the perfect mix of suspense, intrigue, and action.” – Jeanne Cavelos, author of The Passing of the Techno-mages

"Rogues of the Black Fury mixes a berserk action thriller sharp as a mercenary's sword with hard-bitten fantasy so gritty it might scour your bones clean by the time you're done." – Matt Forbeck, author of The Amortals and Carpathia

"Heermann's Rogues is epic, exciting, and a hell of a lot of fun! From the very beginning, the world he crafts feels alive and real. By the last page, I didn't want to leave. Adventure at its finest, honed to a gleaming bloody edge." – Marcus Pelegrimas, author of the Skinners series

"A rollicking read choc-a-bloc with pace, action, and adventure." – Fantasy Book Critic

"A very entertaining read. … For fans of Glen Cook or Jeff Salyards Rogues of the Black Fury could be a great read for a dark winter afternoon." – A Fantastical Librarian

Story Elements

Ratings Factors

Language: Major use of profanity
Sexual Content: No sexual acts implied or described
Target Audience Age/Stage of Life: Working Age Adults
Violence: Extreme violence, torture, maiming

Setting

Geography: Mythological Realm
Realism: Fantasy world with low or no magic
Setting Type: Fantasy
Time Period: N/A

Main Character

Age: Adult
Gender: Male
Race: Caucasian European
Religion: Irrelevant
Sexual Preference: Heterosexual

Styles & Themes

Humor: Dark humor
Inspires Reader to Feel: N/A or None of the above
Mysteries & Puzzles: Significant mystery(ies) are core to driving the story
Pacing: Breakneck
Physical Action: Frequent action, driven by threat to safety or life by antagonist(s)
Political/Social Commentary: Story is intended as metaphor for social or political theme(s)
Romance: Minor romance, not a significant story driver
Genre Fantasy
 
Realism:
  • World is similar to ours, but plot elements include magic
  • Fantasy world with low or no magic
  • Fantasy world where magic is prevalent
Setting Type:
  • Fantasy
Time Period:
  • N/A (Fantasy Setting)

Reviews

No reviews yet!

About the author

Travis Heermann

Freelance writer, novelist, award-winning screenwriter, editor, poker player, poet, biker, roustabout, Travis Heermann is a graduate of the Odyssey Writing Workshop and the author of The Ronin Trilogy, The Wild Boys, Rogues of the Black Fury, and co-author of Death Wind, plus short fiction pieces in anthologies and magazines such as Apex Magazine, Alembical, the Fiction River anthology series, Historical Lovecraft, and Cemetery Dance’s Shivers VII. As a freelance writer, he has produced a metric ton of role-playing game work both in print and online, including the Firefly Roleplaying Game, Battletech, Legend of Five Rings, d20 System, and the MMORPG, EVE Online. He enjoys cycling, martial arts, torturing young minds with otherworldly ideas, and monsters of every flavor, especially those with a soft, creamy center. He has three long-cherished dreams: a produced screenplay, a NYT best-seller, and a seat in the World Series of Poker. In 2016, he returned to the U.S. after living in New Zealand for a year with his family, toting more Middle Earth souvenirs and photos than is reasonable.

More books by Travis