Astreya: The Wanderer's Curse (The Astreya Triolgy #3)

by Seymour Hamilton

Legacy Podcasts are not CrowdPriced what does that mean?
1 stars

Listen for Free

Podcast Audiobook
16 Episodes
626 Minutes Total

Add to Library!

Sign in or Sign up to add to library.

This legacy title is only available as a serialized audibook in podcast form.


The conclusion of The Astreya Trilogy. Lindey takes Astreya, Cam, Damon, and Arneb to Matris, only to discover that much has changed since she left home. Suspicion and distrust surround them. Astreya and Lindey begin to resolve their difficulties, but a gossipy old man on a horse misrepresents the past, and all five must flee aboard Arneb's boat. Once outside the shelter of the hills surrounding Matris, the group discovers that the Men of the Sea are searching for their navigation stones, and they think the Village where Astreya was born has them. Astreya must arrive in time to avert a massacre. When the great black ship reaches the headlands of the fjord, Astreya must confront the worst and the best aspects of his inheritance before he can unravel his past and lift The Wanderer's Curse.

Similar to this book

Story Elements

Ratings Factors

Language: No profanity or censor words
Sexual Content: No sexual acts implied or described
Target Audience Age/Stage of Life: Everyone (no target age)
Violence: Death, but minimal violence


Geography: Northern Europe, Scandinavia
Realism: Consistent with real world, no magic, no unachieved science
Setting Type: Pastoral (rural & small towns)
Time Period: Dark Ages (400CE - 999CE)

Main Character

Age: Young Adult
Gender: Male
Race: Caucasian European
Religion: Irrelevant
Sexual Preference: Heterosexual

Styles & Themes

Humor: Serious
Inspires Reader to Feel: Nostalgic/Happy
Mysteries & Puzzles: Modest mystery element(s) to story
Pacing: Time to savor, deliberate
Physical Action: Minor and occasional action
Political/Social Commentary: Politics play a minor role
Romance: Minor romance, not a significant story driver
Genre Fantasy
  • World is similar to ours, but plot elements include magic
  • Fantasy world with low or no magic
  • Fantasy world where magic is prevalent
Setting Type:
  • Fantasy
Time Period:
  • N/A (Fantasy Setting)

About the author

Seymour Hamilton

SEYMOUR HAMILTON is the author of The Hippies Who Meant It The Laughing Princess, and The Astreya Trilogy. The Hippies Who Meant It (2015) tells the story of young Americans and Canadians who dropped out of the mainstream, armed themselves with optimism, naiveté and a little weed, and homesteaded in rural Nova Scotia during the 1960s. The Laughing Princess (Acedrex Publishing, 2014), illustrated by Shirley MacKenzie, is a collection of 12 interrelated fairy stories about dragons, involving magic, poetry and pirates. Inspired by a voyage by traditional schooner to the south coast of Newfoundland, The Astreya Trilogy (Cortero Press, 2011) chronicles the adventures of Astreya, a young man searching for his identity and his father’s mysterious past. The trilogy is an adventure and love story. The three books are: The Voyage South, The Men of the Sea and The Wanderer’s Curse. Hamilton holds a PhD in English and has taught at Canadian universities including Acadia, Simon Fraser, and the Universities of Calgary and Ottawa. He has worked as a writer, editor and communications officer for the public and private sectors. He lives with his wife Katherine in Chelsea, Quebec. Visit

More books by Seymour Hamilton

Listen to Astreya: The Wanderer's Curse

Sign in or Sign up to listen to podcasts.